LifestyleInside South FloridaCheap Seats


Local Players Nearly Sweep NFL Honors Awards

Posted at 3:03 PM, Feb 04, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-10 16:09:45-05

The NFL Honors, located at Adrienne Arsht Center in Downtown Miami, was really the premiere red carpet event of the NFL while Miami hosted the Big Game. They also announced the Hall of Fame class of 2020. Several local players were vying for a spot in Canton, Ohio including Zach Thomas of the Dolphins and two former University of Miami Hurricanes, Edgerrin James and Reggie Wayne.

Of those modern day finalists, only James got the votes to be in this historic Hall of Fame class.

“It means a lot. In South Florida we live football,” said James.

Former Canes coach, Jimmy Johnson, who was previously announced as a Hall of Famer, was also a part of the NFL Honors Hall of Fame introduction.

"It's been a very busy week but a great week,” said Johnson.

There were several other Hall of Famers and players on the red carpet who all loved Miami hosting the record 11th Super Sunday.

“If there’s one city that deserves to have the Big Game more than any other, I’d have to say it’s Miami. I realize I’m biased because I played down here. The fans, the folks, and this town is laid out to do this,” said Hall of Famer and former Miami Dolphin full back, Larry Csonka.

“Everyone loves Miami. There’s a great history here and it’s a great spot,” said Hall of Famer and former San Francisco 49er quarterback, Steve Young.

The season awards also had a South Florida feel as players with local connections made for a near sweep: Lamar Jackson of Boynton Beach won the MVP, former Dolphins quarterback Ryan Tannehill won comeback player of the year and former 'Cane Calais Campbell won the Walter Payton Man of the Year award.